top of page

NAPS History


NAPS was established in 1989 by Mary Lou Butler, Alexander M. (Mickey) Cochran, Meade Hinton, Jr., Dr. Burris Husman, Eugene E. Paulish and Shirley Smith. We all recognize that Northumberland County is going to grow. If we all join hands, we can help that growth take place "progressively," with order and beauty. We are all stewards of our environment, bearing responsibility for things that are not ours personally.

Over the years the focus of NAPS has evolved, reflecting the priorities of the membership and the Board. NAPS has taken positions on a variety of land use issues, including marinas, cluster homes, landfills, sewage sludge storage sites, and the spreading of urban sewage sludge on agricultural lands in the county. NAPS members also played major roles in helping to draft the 1996 and current re-writes of the county's Comprehensive Plan, and supported the new Northumberland High School/Middle School Campus.

NAPS Presidents

Mickey Cochran: 1989 - 1991

David Shriver: 1991 - 1993

Mike Harwood: 1993 - 1998

Randy Neal: 1998 - 2001

Cary Caton: 2002

Don Pumroy: 2002 (acting president)

Lynton Land: 2002 - 2006

Steve Tallent: 2006 - 2011

Mike Ahart: 2011 - 2012

Bill Estell: 2012 - 2016

Lee Allain/Lynton Land: 2016 - 2017

Mike Ahart: 2017 - 2022

Gena McKinley: 2022 -2023

Ian Brownlee: 2024 -

bottom of page