top of page

NAPS Holds Annual Meeting, Elects Board Members

NAPS welcomes newly elected board members (from left) Martha Tallent, Eliot Levinson, Sandy Henbest, and Rita Johnson.

The Northumberland Association for Progressive Stewardship (NAPS), held its Annual Meeting, Saturday, February 10, 2018, at the Heathsville United Methodist Church following its “Earth Day in February” public environmental symposium (see separate article).

President Mike Ahart called the meeting to order and welcomed the NAPS members in attendance. He listed a number of initiatives, programs and events NAPS conducted or sponsored in 2017, including:

  • The “Tangier in Crisis” program in conjunction with the previous Annual Meeting,

  • A new, updated website and social media tools

  • The 3rd Annual NAPS Earth Day Festival last April

  • Community outreach at several events, including the Master Gardeners Seminar, Farm & Field Day event, the Strawberry Festival, the March for Climate Awareness, and the Northern Neck Land Conservancy Boots & BBQ

  • Sponsoring a team of students in the SeaPerch underwater robotics program all the way to the national competition

  • A STEM virtual/augmented reality technology project in the schools

  • Scholarships awarded to five high school seniors, and preparation of students for the college interview process

  • Distributing free eclipse viewing glasses to hundreds of residents

  • A Bay Eco-Tour for 40 students in June

  • Two Adopt-A-Highway cleanup events

  • A dolphin encounter trip in September for over 100 elementary school students

  • A beach cleanup at Kohl’s Island

  • A huge creek cleanup on the Little Wicomico R.

  • Awarding our Distinguished Citizen Award to Bill Estell at our Fall Annual Social

  • Publishing and circulating a quarterly newsletter

  • Monitoring and participating in meetings of the county Board of Supervisors and Planning Commission

  • Providing guidance to help homeowners and communities control invasive plant species

  • Advocating shoreline conservation landscaping, and against improper development and use of sewage sludge on farmlands

Ahart proposed that 2017 should serve as a roadmap for 2018, but to consider adding new programs, events, and initiatives. Several events are already in the planning phase, including the 4th annual NAPS Earth Day Festival scheduled for April 21 in Heathsville, and another big creek cleanup in the fall.

Treasurer Roger Gruben delivered the Treasurer and Membership Reports to the membership. He said that NAPS is financially in good shape and that membership renewals have been coming in at a good pace so far this year.

Ahart extended special thanks to outgoing board members Greg Haugan, Myrtle Phillips, and Jay Walker for their work with NAPS and other community work. He also thanked the previous co-presidents, Lee Allain and Lynton Land for their continuing efforts, and board member Janice Mahoney for chairing two committees.

Ahart called on the membership for a non-binding vote of confidence for board members Gena McKinley and Sandy Henbest, who filled vacancies during the previous term. The ayes were unanimous.

Three nominees were presented to the membership for the three board seats ending term, and no additional nominations were made from the floor. Martha Tallent, Eliot Levinson, and Rita Johnson were voted to the board unanimously.

The 2018 NAPS Annual meeting was then adjourned. The election of Officers and Committee Chairs will take place at NAPS next monthly board meeting, currently scheduled for March 9.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page