top of page

Submit Your Nomination for the 2020 Northumberland Distinguished Citizen Award

The Northumberland Association for Progressive Stewardship (NAPS) Board of Directors is requesting nominations for the 2020 Northumberland Distinguished Citizen Award.

The award honors an individual, team, organization, or business in Northumberland County that advances the goals of NAPS:

  1. Improving the water quality of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries

  2. Fostering and preserving the county’s rural atmosphere

  3. Promoting and monitoring land use policies

  4. Encouraging economic growth to promote jobs

  5. Cooperating with others through educational programs to target these goals.

Last year’s award (photo above) was presented to Ida Hall for her environmental education and preservation efforts as a career waterman and advocate of sustainable land use, and for her service on several committees and panels dedicated to sustainable fisheries.

Previous awardees include Jack Moore (2018), Bill Estell (2017) Bob Parker (2016), Lee Allain (2015), Sue Lindsey (2014), Jane Towner (2013), Dr. Gregory Haugan (2012) and Myrtle Phillips (2011). The award has also been given to groups, including the county’s Volunteer Fire Departments, Rescue Squads, and Reedville Fishermen’s Museum. A complete list of past awardees can be found at

NAPS also occasionally presents an Ambassador Award to a non-county resident who has contributed to the preservation of Northumberland County as outlined in the NAPS goals above. The first recipient of this award was Henry Bashore, a resident of Lancaster County, for his efforts in making Bush Mill Stream in Northumberland County a nature preserve in perpetuity with the Nature Conservancy.

If you know of an individual, group, organization, or business that merits either of these awards, email the information to, or by mail to NAPS DCA Nomination, PO Box 567, Heathsville, VA 22473. Please include a brief explanation on how your nominee fits the criteria, and include your contact information. Please submit your nominations no later than September 30, 2020.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page